How do you train yourself to endure your last few years before retirement

LOL! Merci- oui, je parle francais, mais je n'ecris pas bien. Je suis Cajun. Vous etes Canadian, peut-etre?

Yes, I have thought about my family's financial needs- quitting today would mean we could live on 3% of our liquid net worth, and my husband has no intention of quitting his job. He makes more than enough to support us without my income. I have been doing the exact same job for 20 years and I no longer love it- I no longer even like it, but I allow for the possibility that I might want to do something else. And then again, I might not and I don't think I will have to if I don't want to.

Last edited:
Frugal, I can feel your pain through the electrons! You don't give enough details for people to offer advice, because different situations, different temperaments, different timeframes call forth different approaches. Are you working too many hours to have a separate life for yourself? Are your weekends free? I can say for myself that I have a hobby that is more like a passion. It has kept my sanity, brought me friends, and gotten me into the outdoors, which is THE antidote to work madness. What is your hobby? Do you have a family to keep you focused outside of work? Is humor a viable approach for you? Philosophy?

Can you make a 5 year roadmap to retirement? Develop a retirement budget, think about preparatory steps, such as planning a vacation to the area you plan to retire to, consult with a financial planner, start learning a language or a sport? Meditation instead of medication? ( And don't entirely discount cynicism!)

Know too that as the time passes, your anxiety lessens and it becomes easier to get your head above water and make plans. I would be interested in hearing your ideas on getting through the next years.

Where to start...