Band in the box

FinallyRetired

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
This is not an ad for this software, but I wonder if anyone else uses it?

I'm a lifelong frustrated musician who has little natural talent, but works very hard at playing the guitar. After years of playing folk style, I decided to take jazz guitar lessons last summer. Since I have no talent, I can't actually play jazz, but I can play tablature (follow the numbers) and so can play along with the melody I see in front of me, and improvise along really simple chord progressions.

So I got the band in the box software, hooked it up through MIDI cables to a keyboard, and play along as the music displays on my laptop. The backing tracks are very, very, good, equal in quality to what would have cost many thousands of dollars in the past. And there are thousands of musical selections one can download for free on the internet. The s/w itself has a free demo, or you can buy it pretty cheap, I think for under a $200.

By choosing the guitar track, I can play along either the regular music notation or the tab while choosing whatever instruments I want in the background, usually percussion, bass, and horns or piano. Trombone Al might be bored, but I have a lot of fun with this, and every now and then DW says I sound pretty good! And she is unbiased, of course :cool:

I know DH uses Band in the Box, but I wasn't sure for how long. I just asked him and evidentially he loves it because he's been using it since 1990! :LOL: I had no idea it had been that long...:p

Anyhoo, he's been playing (bass) guitar for about 35 years and last summer bought an upright bass. He's into jazz now. Is interest in jazz something that has to happen when we get older? I like a little of it, but have not yet jumped on the "band wagon". :)

He's into jazz now. Is interest in jazz something that has to happen when we get older? I like a little of it, but have not yet jumped on the "band wagon". :)