Join Early Retirement Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Broadband options
Old 01-20-2013, 12:54 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
kyounge1956's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,172
Broadband options

All the utilities are on at my Lacey house except phone and internet. I don't know what to do about the latter pair. All the ads I see seem to emphasize TV, which I barely watch and could do without altogether, and they all give a special price for the first few months which I'm sure skyrockets for the rest of a probably-compulsory contract term of who-knows-how-many years. The house has an existing DirecTV dish, but I'm sure the service is inactive. If I use some other kind of service, like DSL or cable internet, will the wiring in the house have to be replaced?

I had a plain landline and dialup at my townhouse, but after staying with my mom these last months I'm completely spoiled by the high-speed connection here, but she's paying way more for a multi-channel bundle plus internet plus voice than is in my budget. In times past I've looked around a bit and it seems like it often costs as much or more to get just the two services I want than to get one I don't along with them. Also, I've never used either DSL or DirecTV and don't know if either are fast enough for my purposes, mostly browsing and maybe home WIFI if I succumb to the lure of the iPad. I don't like Comcast (my mom's provider), the service seem glitchy and inconsistent. One time you hit the remote and X happens, you do the same thing again later in the day and get Y instead. Maybe this isn't all Comcast's fault; there is a home network that was set up by my late dad and neither my mom nor I really know how it works. But these experiences have left a bad taste in my mouth. It's all PC here and I'm a Mac user. Also I don't know if I want a landline phone at all or can I just get broadband and use VOIP? I don't like cell phones and don't know if I will get one at all. The laptop I use to telecommute has a 4G wireless modem, and I know I don't want that, because the connection gets slower or hangs altogether if there are other users in the area, and it seems unlikely that any area is going to have an ongoing decline in user numbers, meaning the speed and quality are almost sure to deteriorate right from the start.

I feel like I need to decide between apples, oranges and bananas, never having tasted the apple or orange and not much liking the banana. I'm so confused! How did you choose?

kyounge1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-20-2013, 01:44 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rustward's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,459
I would suggest broadband and VOIP. If your broadband connection is not good enough for VOIP you can add a landline.

As far as using existing cabling, that will depend on what is there, and if the provider certifies it -- determines that it is good enough.

Rustward is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:45 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,825
In some places, you don't have a choice. I was able to cable but not DSL. Have you checked yet to see what is actually available at your location ?

Satellite works if you can't get anything else, but usually more expensive. Also reception problems with trees other obstacles, some service don't work well over it like VPNs. Cable/DSL are about the same now, you can get different bandwith levels for varying prices.

I have magicjack (VOIP), works for me. Just remember if internet is out you have no phone.
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 01:45 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
RockyMtn's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Scottsdale
Posts: 1,042
Everyone has their own opinions on this subject. I will offer mine. Ultimately your budget may limit your options.

First, if you decide to go with cable broadband or cable for tv the existing wires in the house should work even though they were installed for directv or dish. The dish up on the roof should work if you opt to go that way for tv. You just need to find out what kind of dish it is and either Directv or Dish could provide the service. DSL goes through phone wires so the existing tv wiring is irrelevant as long as there has been phone service in the house.

My set up is Directv (like the sports offered vs the local cable company), Century Link DSL and VOIP (majic jack) for phone. Also have a cell phone. DSL operates on a wireless network and works fine. Also have a Directv wireless router which connects to my wireless network and allows me to watch tv on the Ipad (pretty cool feature) in areas of the house where there is no tv.

There is a website that offers you all of the options available to you based on your address. You just type it in and all of the services available pop up.
FIRE'D in July 2009 at 51...Never look back!
RockyMtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 02:07 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
haha's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hooverville
Posts: 21,829
IMO, everyone should have a cell phone within reach at all times. Today, that can be quite inexpensive.

haha is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.