Calling on bourbon drinkers

Scuba

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
A good friend of ours has recently gotten into bourbon as his liquor of choice. I don't know his brand preference. For Christmas we were thinking of getting him a bourbon related gift. What do you think is best:
- A bottle of high end bourbon that he wouldn't normally buy for himself
- A bottle of his regular bourbon
- A sampler of several smaller bottles of bourbon so he can try different ones
- A club that we could fund for a few months and he could cancel or continue as desired. The club would ship samples monthly, but samples would include other whiskeys and/or spirits as I can't find a "bourbon only" club.
- Some other idea I haven't thought of?

I used to live near the Bourbon Trail and, well, it seemed ‘mandatory’ to try different bourbons. :D. I’m by no means an expert but, I do know what brands I like. My favorite is Woodford Reserve.

However, for your friend, I think the sampler or club ideas are the best since he’s new to Bourbon & likely still deciding what he likes. Tell him he can send his rejects to me; I’ll happily send him my address. ;)

I’m a single malt person but the same principle applies. While I have 2 or 3 favorites that I buy myself I love it when I am bought a selection, or something different or unusual that I have not tried before.

Check to see if there are any local distilleries that make a bourbon. Many great craft whiskeys for a reasonably price, and a local story to match. It may even involve a day trip, and that's an additional present for you!

One of the sampler options seems good to me.

They make alcohol advent calendars that are fun to try - depends how much you want to spend though (and if they ship spirits in your state)

+1 on the sampler. Dangerous getting a bottle of extra expensive stuff. What if he doesn’t care for it?
I’m not a big bourbon guy, but Woodford Reserve is what I keep on hand.

Bourbon, eh ? :cool: