Comparing dating sites

jIMOh

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I am 42 yo and divorced.

I use a combination of Eharmony, Tinder, It's just lunch and OK Cupid...

curious what others experience with dating sites is?

1. I have NO personal experience with dating sites, but a friend and co-worker in her early 40's got a steady stream of Losers from Match.com. I think her problem was that she didn't specify they had to have steady jobs making at least as much as she did :LOL:. She finally married an excellent match (for her) whom she met the old-fashioned way, at work.

2. Another cow-orker met, married, and has since had a baby with a lady he met via Match.com. Last I checked they'd been married for 6 years, and going strong. It's not that he had more "going on" than Example No.1; he was just better at specifying his "requirements."

Amethyst

1. I have NO personal experience with dating sites, but a friend and co-worker in her early 40's got a steady stream of Losers from Match.com. I think her problem was that she didn't specify they had to have steady jobs making at least as much as she did :LOL:.

I have no job and have low income. I guess according to your friend's standards I'm a loser.

And yet I am a muti-millionaire with financial assets in the top 1% of the US. Oh well, her loss!

My advice to the OP is to find an online venue with the best chance of being able to tell your unique story. My guess is if you're on this forum you don't fit the typical boxes.

Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum

My understanding is that since OK Cupid is free but only pay for advanced features, that could draw the scammers. Tinder is based mostly on appearance (some say that is shallow) and eharmony is more limiting (could be a good thing) in that instead of updating your profile and getting search results quickly, there's more screening involved.

I have a nephew who found his girlfriend on eharmony (well, I think she found him) and they see very happy together.