Ever wonder how life would have been

OldAgePensioner

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
had you taken a different path or different job, say, ice cream truck driver :D

I studied astodynamics with several very important professors in that field Dr. Herrick, Dr. Baker, Dr. Makemson and all encouraged me to get my PhD. Well, I decided to go to work in the aerospace industry in LA. Work was exciting and interesting and I never looked back. I did get my Master's while working.

But I could be a tenured professor at UCLA now if I had listened to them. I do wonder about the choice from time to time.

Anyone wish they had taken the other road(s) in their life.

OAP, nay, your career as either a) an ice cream truck driver or b) tenured professor at UCLA would have been a short career. Either job puts you in touch with way too many temptations, and I'm not talking about eating 10 snow cones in one sitting. :)

I know I would need to wear dark sunglasses all the time as a professor. I'm now taking summer classes at a local college, and let's just say that as soon as the temperature goes above 79 degrees (I was going to say 69 degrees, but as fun as that sounds, that stretches even my imagination), the girls start wearing tiny miniskirts (with side split) and low-cut tops. Ah, just trying to walk down the hall without running into the walls is a challenge.

BunsofVeal,
Back in my days at school, all the girls wore skirt to their ankes and bobby socks.

Yeah, but just think as a ice cream truck driver you got to wear that cool white uniform and hat.

I just started the thread to see if any other had a chance at a job and went the wrong way.

My best friend is a drummer of considerable talent and when the Eagles broke up in 1982, he was 22 years old and got offered a job playing drums in Glenn Frey's new band. He was about to get married and turned it down. Marriage last less than a year. Bad choice.

seeing what we do pales in comparison to knowing who we are.