Lost a good friend today

Badger

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
and I'm feeling a little down. We spent 4 great years at college and remained friends over the past 46 years. I suppose I'm getting to the age I need to expect this to happen more often if I last long enough. I'm not good at how to deal with things like this. It makes me angry and frustrated as well as sad because there isn't anything I can do about it.

I just didn't know anyone else to tell who might understand.

Cheers!

I'm so sorry about your loss. It is hard and sadly, it becomes more common as we age.

A high school buddy of mine died over the weekend. We used to shoot pool over our lunch hour or cruise the main drag. Funny guy, the class clown. The boy did like to party, though, and became addicted to the bottle. He succumbed to pancreatic cancer on Sunday.

It's a signpost to our mortality and also the loss of a friend -- it cuts two ways. But it's part of the river of life.

Joni Mitchell said it: "Something's lost but something's gained in living every day." Where we've gained is hard to fathom right now.

I've lost several friends before their time. And yes it makes me angry as well as sad. I am sorry for your loss.

Badger,

I am so sorry for your loss. My best friend died three years ago--ovarian cancer. Still think of her every day because she was such a non-judgmental friend I could call for wise input...little things and major. She loved life and fought the cancer valiantly. We may never understand, but we can feel blessed to have known such wonderful humans and take with us what they taught us by their living.

Again, so sorry. It stinks.

Sorry to hear about this. Especially with the holiday and new year which probably makes it more difficult.

The loss of a friend is tough...especially one we've known for many years.

Hopefully with a little time, fun memories will bring on a smile.

I'm sorry for the loss of your friend. May good memories help to sustain you through this time.