Pros and Cons of Becoming a Police Officer

Trek's comments are offensive and insulting. One of my Sons is a Police Officer, and every day that he puts on his uniform he puts his life on the line so that the rest of us can live our lives with some degree of safety. I picture people like Trek sitting at their kitchen table in their underwear using their computer to try to demean those of us who are out working to try to make this a better world. Shame on you Trek. You are disgraceful.

Hey Guys,
I'm 23 years old and I have been working in the financial industry for about 5 year now. I currently manage a small bank in my hometown of Maryland, and i've been a manager here for a year and 3 months.
I also compete in Mixed Martial Arts, and i actually had a successful debut fight a few months back.
Recently, i've been feeling pretty bored with work, and feeling the need for a career change. i'm looking for something with a bit more excitement.
if anyone has experience in law enforcement or is familiar with it, can i please have some pros and cons?
i know an obvious Con would be the risk of the job, thanks

You seem to have a positive outlook, looking for a new field, I would say heck yes .

I have some good friends in the state police in NJ and would say they are one fantastic bunch of people who put their lives on the line everyday for all of us. I would say go for it and then a big Thank You!

Walt, a bunch of my cop friends are out on disibility and SS disibility. Sorry, but out of a least 10 I know collecting this money only one has a real injury that would keep him from working and he wasn't hurt on the job yet he still collects. They all laugh about it and are in great shape and could go out and do a job. Very few lines of work will get you not only a tax free pension and SS didibility if your injured.