Volunteering and liability

SheitlQueen

Full time employment: Posting here.
I have been a Range Safety Officer at our local indoor shooting range for a long time. It's all volunteer run and we are not covered by any liability insurance. My understanding is that the range itself has coverage, but it doesn't extend to us.

Lately I've been wondering how smart it is to continue doing this work. I really enjoy it, but if something happened (nothing ever has, and it's a small chance it would...but it could) and I got sued, it could wipe me out.

I have repeatedly asked about insurance and been told "we'll check on it", and then nothing ever happens.

Has anyone else ever given up volunteer work because of the possibility of a lawsuit, no matter how remote?

Or you can shop for your own insurance that would cover that kind of liability.

You probably have an umbrella liability policy. Read its "Exclusions" section very carefully. What you are doing as RSO is a hobby, not a job. IANAL or an insurance expert but my guess is that you will conclude that you are covered.

If you have an independent insurance agent you could probably ask him/her. If a tied agent (State Farm, Allstate, etc.) I would not ask; their loyalty is to the insurance company not to you.

I have been a Range Safety Officer at our local indoor shooting range for a long time. It's all volunteer run and we are not covered by any liability insurance.

This is as far as I read before thinking: "Run!". I can't imagine an outfit--especially one dealing with firearms, of all things!--not providing serious liability coverage for everybody involved.

This is one of the perils of slow wealth accumulation. People don't think of themselves as wealthy or being at serious risk of exposure in such matters and carry on as they did when they had a lot less to lose.