Will This Jack Work?

TromboneAl

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
The Nissan Leaf doesn't come with a spare tire, not even one of those toy spare tires. It comes with gunk to put in the flat tire and a compressor. The gunk ruins the tire.

So, I'm buying what I need to have a spare, and I bought a jack that looks like this:

qoH4itC.jpg

However, the gap is not very deep, so when it touches the ridge at the jack points, there is a gap like this:

9pv6FJs.png

For orientation:

index.233.gif

IOW, the weight of the car would be supported by the ridge rather than the areas around the ridge. Is that how it should be, or do I need a jack with a deeper notch?

Hope that's clear!

Thanks.

I'm not an engineer or a professional mechanic, just someone who has worked on cars a lot in past (and who has a floor jack in my garage to play it safe!). That being said, I wouldn't want to risk my fingers/arm/body on the car balancing on that fine of a point. Particularly since it sounds like you'd be using it on roadside repair situation, which is the riskiest time--and you'd likely not have jackstands in the trunk!

If the car slides off of that ridge, it may keep going past the gap. Good jacks are relatively cheap.

Check at a junk yard (car parts recycler). They should have the correct jack.

You could grind down that flange until the jack sits solidly on the car body.

Going a different way - how about gluing some strips of rubber on the two jack "hills"? Thinking some cut out rectangles from an old tire sidewall? *I wouldn't grind down that body weld seam.* When lifting cars I sometimes use a pad of 4" long 2x4 cross-ways to the car body seam and lift the car with a floor jack no problem

If possible I would add material to the top contact surface in order to bridge the deficit.