Yeah! ER nearly 2 years earlier than planned!

Retire2013

Recycles dryer sheets
Hello Forum members!

I had planned to ER at end of 2014 but I've reached 3% WR and my company is doing a RIF and offering me a six-figure severance package so I am going to ER at end of next month. :dance: I kept hoping this would happen and kept my plan to ER to myself. I survived several rounds of layoffs but finally it's my turn and this has truly saved me from the potential of falling for the "one-more-year syndrome!"

I've known of this news for over 2 weeks now. Have been so happy! I kept pinching myself to make sure it's not just a dream and that I am going to wake up and find myself having to work for another 5 years before ER. Then I look at my packet. Read the severance payment and benefits (I am a CPA and am pretty decent with numbers) and YES, it is really happening! Now I feel ready to share this very happy news with ALL of YOU!!!

I am so thrilled. I explained this wonderful news to my dogs "Mommy is going to ER now instead of at end of next year" they just tilted their heads one way and then the other way but then I got to the part where I told them "we are going to take long walks around the lake everyday!" then they got it and started wagging their tails and broke into spontaneous running around in circles. What happy times we are living right now.

Thank you ALL for your encouragement since I've joined this Forum in 2009.

Yeah!!!! :dance:

Retire 2014 (please add me to the Class of 2013!!!)

Last edited:
Congratz! I'm just sitting and waiting for the same thing. We had a layoff at the end of January, and I didn't get tapped. But the rumor right now is that sales are still falling. Maybe another round later this year. I'm working on reducing my performance so they don't miss me this go around...

Congrats Retire2014...oh..I mean, 2013! :D