Allocations Now

haha

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Hi,

Recap on my allocations. I use "dynamic allocation", sometimes pejoratively called market timing. I have been raising cash for 18 months or so, but my investments have all been very strong so my allocations have been pretty stable.

Cash and fixed income is 61%. Equities 39%, of which 6% is gold equity, 16% energy, 10% foreign stock mostly Japanese and UK, and 7% US Stock. The US stock is fully hedged by puts after a 5-7% decline. In a large decline the increasing deltas of my out-of-the-money puts would make me way more than 100% hedged re: US stock.

Ha

HaHa said:
Cash and fixed income is 61%. Equities 39%, of which 6% is gold equity, 16% energy, 10% foreign stock mostly Japanese and UK, and 7% US Stock. The US stock is fully hedged by puts after a 5-7% decline.

Isn't it a bit late, then? ;)

Why so much cash and fixed income? Why gold? Why UK? Why do I ask so many questions?... ;)

author=Cool Dood link=topic=6843.msg122568#msg122568 date=1143943850]

I am not sure I understand your question, but I think you mean why allow a 5-7% drop. The reason is cost. It is quite expensive to buy at the money puts. I am not sensitive to a small correction; it is big drops that I want to hedge. Figuring out just how much hedge you have is very sensitive to how far the index or ETF or whatever you are hedging falls.

Why gold?

I have been advertising my gold holdings around here for a long time. Why gold? Because I thought it would be profitable; and it has been very much so.

I have 2 UK stocks that I have had >10 years. They are permanent holdings.

Ha

Hi Ha
Interesting allocation. A couple of questions
What scenario are you looking for?

How long are you expecting to hold the cash?

Does your thinking include a drop in the US dollar?

I am also collecting cash (Yen).
Mike