Looking for Advice

wfobrien

Dryer sheet wannabe
Im new to retirement (62) and started with a managed plan with Fidelity for my accumulated assets. Since Im really conservative Ive set up a 30/70 split.

I have had lots of free time of course and get to read ad infinitum on the web about approaches. The number 1 being take the money out of Fidelity's hand and do it yourself....same if not better results.

Before I do that though I realize that Id need an actionable plan. And I guess I have a hard time shaking my number 1 goal is capital preservation.

So Im trying to come up with the best approach for peace of mind to get 3-4% relatively safely. I hear fixed annuities, dividend stock portfolio, immediate annuity, safe haven ETFs, REIT investments, etc.....

I really welcome any input. Even if someone can recommend a retirement advisor who might point me in a direction. (I do like the Fidelity guys but they seem to have only 1 approach). My head hurts from trying to manage this....enlisting Fidelity was obviously my way of deferring it for now.

Thanks for listening and any advice

Bill

And I guess I have a hard time shaking my number 1 goal is capital preservation.
One of the greatest difficulties for those of us who are "conservative investors" is understanding (both intellectually and emotionally) that you have to take some risk in order to 'preserve capital.' And that investing not to loose money (via CD's, annuities, etc.) is a guaranteed way to see capital eaten away by inflation.

We use a 60/40 AA. The expected net (of taxes) real return = 4.4%. For our equities = 7.6%. For our fixed income = -0.5%.

To get this expected return we are willing to lose 30% of our port's value to do so.

IMHO, the minimum allocation to equities for the most conservative of investors = 20%.

This very conservative allocation would give us an expected net real return = 1.1%. You must be prepared to lose up to 10% of your port's value to get this meager expected return.