Retrenchment--you can do it later than you think!!

tarheeljim

Confused about dryer sheets
Good morning FIRE-ee's and wannabe's (like me!). I found a great article which discusses when retirees should retrench (i.e. reduce their withdrawals due to a shrinking asset base...for whatever reason). I claim no credit for it, but thought it would be a good thing for all to read. The FPA Journal is THE professional journal for CFP's.

NOTE: it may only be good until September 30, although if you pm me I can scan and email you a copy.

I am a CFP and a CPA by trade, so this stuff naturally interests me!

Here ya go:

When Should Retirees Retrench? Later Than You Think

Hope it's helpful to someone, and Godspeed in your planning!

Jim in NC

Oh yeah, I forgot to say it's kinda dry and technical...

I feel asleep at about line 200.

...but the info is great if you can wade through it.

...please pass the extra-caffeinated coffee...

Jim in NC

If there's any useful information in it, it's deeply buried in a droning, repetitive morass of hypothetical scenarios, etc. My advice? Give up now before you wade in too far.

I'll spare you. Here's the executive summary:

"Running out of money? No problem. You can stall before reducing your expenditures longer than you think. Hey, you could die earlier than you expect, after all, or there could be a nice big bull market that saves your bacon.

If you don't stall and reduce your expenses down to the 4% rule or similar, you will reduce your standard of living way too much without having all that big an impact on how long your money will last.

We came up with some terms and threw in a table or two that supports this, but it's all far too long and boring to wade through. Don't bother trying. Really.