Social Security and early retirement.

OneDay

Recycles dryer sheets
Hopefully I'm going to be FIRE when im around 51, I've been making good money for several years, and currently my SS statements say that I'll get the maximum benefit upon retirement, I know early retirement will change that, also my wife is 3 years older than myself and hasn't worked in 4 years, she will be 54 when we hopefully retire. Thanks in advance.

Your SS amount may not be affected all that much. There is an estimator program on the SS web site that allows you to get an estimate of what your amount will be at various ages. Just enter "0" for the years after you retired and you'll see about what the effect will be.

FWIW, I recently checked my own situation. I started taking SS this year at 70 so these are actual numbers.

I am getting 82% of the maximum despite never earning all that much during my career. Out of my top 35 years, I had only 8 years at the max. During those years, I had three years of less than $5,000 earnings, two at the beginning and one at the end.

So the system worked pretty well for me.

I had quite a few years when I maxed out SS contributions. But then, I had a couple of years when my income was a big fat 0 because I was a cofounder for startups. And then, I retired early too.

Still, I should be doing OK. But, but, but to get to 70 is 10 years from now. The lock box or coffer may be empty by then.

Hopefully I'm going to be FIRE when im around 51, I've been making good money for several years, and currently my SS statements say that I'll get the maximum benefit upon retirement, I know early retirement will change that, also my wife is 3 years older than myself and hasn't worked in 4 years, she will be 54 when we hopefully retire. Thanks in advance.

Your SS statement assume you will earn last years income until full retirement age, so to me that suggests you will NOT get the maximum.
It only looks this way because the last few years you have earned a lot.