Has anyone considered retiring to the town you grew up in?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Forced to Retire

Dryer sheet aficionado
I am sixty one (61) years old and when I graduated from college in 1979 I decided to move to a big metro area where there were lots of jobs for young people like me who were full of energy and drive. I wanted to make lots of money and work in a competitive organization. So I moved to "dog eat dog" Washington DC. Someone said: "if you want a friend in Washington DC, get a dog."

Well the last 37 years living in the greater DC area has been interesting. But after a few successes and some great years, the town has eaten me alive. The office politics just ate me alive. I made lots of enemies and just a few casual friends. I am now a old beaten down unemployed 61 year old man who looks and feels more like 70.

When I moved to DC my father warned me that the town would eat me alive. He was right. Maybe I should have stayed in Saint Cloud Minnesota and taken that job at the bank I was offered.

Is it too late? Can I retire to the town I grew up in and maybe should have stayed in in 1979? Can you go home again?

Last edited:
You can go anywhere you like, but don't expect things to change unless you do. Y.our words before said you are 300lbs and at 61 that starts to become crippling. You also stated you can be very quirky to say the least. I wouldn't expect a change of scenery to change much socially. Financially it can help a lot to go to a low cost of living area. The world is not going to change, you need to. Its difficult for a cranky older person to change but it can happen it just takes effort.

I have returned to the town I grew up in after being away 35 years. But I also had a wife and two young boys.
Worse, I am living in the house where I spent my high school years.
Moved back to help care for elderly parent after retiring from career.