Real Life vs. "Gray Time"

brewer12345

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
As I trudge along in my rut, I increasing find a hugely sharp divide between time that is my own (weekends, vacation, etc.) ad time in the cube. I had a 4 day weekend this weekend and I can't believe how much living I got in in this time period: A day to reconnect with my wife and kids after a week on the road, a glorious sunny day hunting, a day where I took my kids and FIL (DW home sick) to the National Western Stock Show (we had never been), and a day outside brewing/baking/cooking. In contrast, time at work is "gray": time passes, I do what I have to do, I pass the time with friends and coworkers, but it is all somehow lacking in substance. I get free for a few days and I feel like I have awakened from a coma or something.

Anyone else feel this? Is it a consequence of chasing down age 40 later this year?

I had that experience early in my career, when I was an intern working 70-80 hours a week, at age 23. I remember well having two weeks without a day off, feeling I just could not work one more night, and then a sun-filled weekend of golfing with my dad, followed by a delicious seafood meal in Kinsale (Ireland). I think it was the desolation and despair of work that made me relish every free moment. I returned to work on Monday refereshed and ready for another mind-numbing stretch of slave labour.

Last edited:
Brewer, I cannot even begin to describe to you how much the quality of my life has changed for the better, now that I am retired. I feel as though I have been freed from my chains and have just begun to live.

This is one of many reasons why (for many) I would urge frugality to a nearly ridiculous degree in order to retire as early as possible. Also, I would urge taking care of one's health, as you are doing, so that one may enjoy as many years in retirement as possible.

Last edited: