How about posting reasons for closing a thread.

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have no actual knowledge of how moderation is done, but I think I can make a good guess based on what I’ve seen over the years. Many times a post is made that would wreak havoc on the otherwise well-ordered E-R world. A mod sees it, and (probably after a quick discussion with others) the offending post is deleted and the thread (if it’s not very long yet) is also deleted. If it’s a longer thread it’s just closed.

At least that’s my impression. Seems like a very good system to me. Move on and change the scenery.

Which is what MichaelB said in his closing statement.

If he would have prefaced his comment with 'This thread is being closed because...", maybe this thread would have never happened.

Sometimes, you have to draw a conclusion when the author leave certain pieces of the puzzle for you to piece together.

#1 rule of forum/post modding is you do not talk about forum/post modding.

(anywhere)

Carry on.

I just think it is most excellent that we CAN talk about Fight Club

I very much appreciate the moderators. They have a tough job. I saw MichaelBs post as a comment, not a closure statement. Looking back I can see my mistake but I think I have seen other similar cautionary posts that are not followed by a closure. Had the post simply added something like “therefore we are closing this topic until definitive changes are implemented,” I would not have been confused.

I can only remember one thread that, at the time, confused me as to why it was closed. Once you've hung here around a bit, you can usually figure it out. If you can't figure it out, I don't think it takes that much mental discipline to think about something else and move on, does it?

I imagine that if you were doing something fairly egregious, someone would tell you.

I belong to another forum that has nothing to do with retirement.
They have a special section specifically for 'Religion & Politics'