Why medical bills are killing us.

Part time poster so defer to the ongoing discussion. Mods, feel free to delete or merge into the ongoing thread.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    58.3 KB · Views: 23
The sad truth in the USA is that many people are denied health insurance (myself included) even when they can afford to pay for it (unwillingly...). I bought into my state's high-risk pool after BCBS refused to take me - and pay $941 a month for myself. It's bankruptcy insurance for me, and has a known end in sight when on June 1, I get on Medicare. Still, it is appalling. It does get me a good discount on prescriptions, but very little else. What it really does is cover me so that if something catastrophic happens, there is an upper limit to what I have to pay out of pocket - and they pay 100% after that. Three more months and counting down.

I worked in the healthcare industry for the last 12 years of my working life. There is nothing in the Time article that strikes me as inaccurate, or unusual. Not only does Medicare get a huge discount on services it pays for, all insurance companies do. Nearly 20 years ago I had a surgery bill for $21K (from the hospital, not counting doctors' fees). The hospital got about $7K for that bill from my insurer.

The whole system is crazy. My internist thinks it's crazy. All the doctors have to employ people whose entire job is arguing about payments, with insurance companies.

I hope it gets better. At least on Medicare I won't pay as much for the insurance.

Always follow the money. From the article: