Excellent article on finding hotels by the Kaderlis

kevink

Full time employment: Posting here.
Great article by ER board favorites Billy and Akaisha on finding good lodging at the best possible price. These two know how to travel!

Find a Hotel Room

Great article by ER board favorites Billy and Akaisha on finding good lodging at the best possible price. These two know how to travel!

Find a Hotel Room
I agree, great work by Billy and Akaisha. I am not very good at negotiating, and there are some great take-it-to-the bank practical suggestions in there. I totally agree about arriving as early as possible (for a variety of reasons), I hate arriving somewhere after dark.

I will add a couple of ideas.

I also have torn the map page out of my guidebook and I will have a small compass when I arrive in the particular area with several hotels (I rarely go to investigate any hotel if there are not others in the same area) so that I can easily find them all. Having a map is also handy when asking others for directions. I have had travel partners initially laugh at the compass idea, but by the end of the trip every single one swore never to travel without one again.

When I am traveling alone, I can't leave my bags with my partner. Sometimes I have just carried my pack, but I have also dropped it off at the first place I checked out and asked them to watch it behind the counter, and then picked it up later after deciding where to stay. That is a small risk, but so is carrying all of your stuff around in a new place.