Has anyone had women's clothing made in Asia?

Orchidflower

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I am interested in visiting Asia (Vietnam, Hong Kong, Bankok, Singapore and so forth), and, while there, having some clothing made for myself. I plan to take magazine photos with me of women's clothing from Vogue, Harper's Bazaar and other publications.
Has anyone on this board ever done that?
Where would you suggest I go to have this done?
What country or city is best?
Any suggestions on shops that do specialize in ladies' coats, slacks, shirts, dresses, etc. overseas?
Can I ship any excess clothing that will not fit into my suitcase back to my home in the US--and actually receive them? I probably will not be able to carry all back, and this kinda has me concerned right now.
Any suggestions are appreciated as I have never done this before, so I need some assistance finding my way around on this first go-round.
Thanks!

Orchidflower

Years ago, many years ago, I had some dresses made as you describe. What you need to know is that they don't provide the 'ease' you are used to in their garments.

What I suggest is that you take some garments you like but are warn out and ask that they be reproduced in a fabric of your choice. They can dis-assemble the garment and use it as a pattern.

Are you saying that they sew the seams without any extra fabric, so you can let things out?
That is a great idea to take some worn clothing for patterns, tho.
But how do you get new patterns for pants made then? Or don't you?

Orchidflower said:
I am interested in visiting Asia (Vietnam, Hong Kong, Bankok, Singapore and so forth), and, while there, having some clothing made for myself. I plan to take magazine photos with me of women's clothing from Vogue, Harper's Bazaar and other publications.
Has anyone on this board ever done that?
Where would you suggest I go to have this done?
What country or city is best?