Bloat in American Universities-Economist Article

haha

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
"As costs soar, diligence is tumbling. In 1961 full-time students in four-year colleges spent 24 hours a week studying; that has fallen to 14, estimates the AEI. Drop-out and deferment rates are also hair-curling: only 40% of students graduate in four years."
Schumpeter: Declining by degree | The Economist

This is one of my favortite topics- the absurdity of parents and students going into very heavy debt for something that has no very clear relationship to earning money, that is often supplied in slapdash manner and with zero customer service but maximum arrogance. Is there no limit to the gullibility of the American public?

About the 1961 sudy hours vs. today's, I was in college in 1961 and I studied on average 30 hours a week, not including labs.

If I had a kid who was spending my money to go to university and he only spent 16 hours a week studying I would think it was time for him to move on to the real world, and maybe come back later with a better attitude.

If I had a kid who was spending my money to go to university and he only spent 16 hours a week studying I would think it was time for him to move on to the real world, and maybe come back later with a better attitude.

Does the 16 hours studying include in class or just out of class?

Personally I guess I would look more at results. FWIW way back when I was in college I picked classes that had no attendance requirements and didn't attend class if the professor was boring or just regurgitated teh book. Some courses I went to every class. Others I just went to the exams after I had assessed the course.

For my own kids, I encourage them to attend class. However, if they can make good grades with studying 10 hours a week (or whatever) then I don't see the point of requiring more study. Of course if they can't then I won't be paying for it for very long.