Hi from Sunny California

Rdub

Recycles dryer sheets
Great site! I am 44, married with 2 kids (5/7). My wife just gave notice and will be RE by the end of this month. I am an accountant, so I do a lot of planning, saving, modeling. I have always managed my own investments and enjoy doing so. I track all of our spending in Quicken and also maintain a spreadsheet with my goals in life (personal and financial), net worth trends, and a financial forecast until I am 100. Ok, maybe I am an accountant with FIRE OCD.

I came from big family (including foster kids) and my dad worked his butt off trying to make ends meet. Seeing my dad work real hard and then having a heart attack at an early age, did a number on me. I told myself that I would go to college and not get married until I was financially secure. I would work hard, save my money, take care of my health and make time for fun. I started working when I was 13, joined the military, finished college, worked for a big CPA firm and then joined a tech company, where I have been for the last 16 years. I workout nearly every morning, see my doctor every year, take a couple vacations each year with the fam and love being a dad.

I have used some of the tools and book recommendations from this site over the last year. I created a Get a life- retirement tree with over 50 items on my to do list. Some are in process and some need to wait for RE. I have run retirement calcs through: Financial Engines, FIRE Calc and Flexible Retirement Planner. I have also had professionals at Schwab, Wells and Vanguard run retirement analyses with consistent results. I am not afraid of getting bored, but I am concerned about: 1) not having enough time in retirement to do all the things on my list, and 2) outliving my assets.