Well I let work know today

jabbahop

Recycles dryer sheets
I let me boss know that I was retiring today. He had the reaction I hoped for. He was both happy for me and disappointed that I would be leaving.

I guess I will be sticking around for longer than 2 weeks to try to "impart my wisdom" to other members of the team and help out on a few hot projects. My guess is that the last day will be mid march.

I have been working in tech for 30 years and while I am ready and excited, it feels wierd and a bit sad to step away from the work and the people. I have been incredibly fortunate to work for great industry leading companies. Megacorps but run by really good people who I will miss.

When the twins finish high school in 2 years, DW and I will sell our forever dreamhouse that we built and spend the winters in the sun of southern Utah and the summers @ our cottage on the lake here in Vermont. Beyond travelling and cycling, I am not retiring TO anything specific. Maybe just to EXPLORE whatever interests me with no constraints of work holding me back.

Thanks to everyone who contributes to this forum. It has been a huge help and inspiration as we prepare for the future. I jump into FIRE with eyes WIDE OPEN.

Congratulations. As a retiree from a tech field, I can say that while I miss getting to play with some new technological tools, I don't miss deadlines and project schedules one bit. And traveling and cycling can eat up a lot of that unstructured time.

Congrats! You will enjoy this new phase of your life!

Wahoo! So excited for you. Keep us updated...like how your last day goes, and how much you love retirement, and how the transition from full time work to retirement goes.

............I guess I will be sticking around for longer than 2 weeks to try to "impart my wisdom" to other members of the team and help out on a few hot projects. .............