Online Travel Sites

easysurfer

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
Are online travel sites pretty much the same? Or do some really stand out vs others.

I'll be doing some booking soon (hotel, flight).

Usually, for hotels, if I get a general idea of what is out there, I go to hotels.com. For flights, I go to Orbitz.

But are there better places to go to score a better deal?

I like checking Google Flights to determine which date(s) have the lowest airline prices. (There are a few airlines that are not included in the Google flight data. Southwest is one that springs to mind. If they might be a potential carrier, I'd suggest checking them independently and comparing with the others within Google Flights.)

omni

I've been traveling for business since the early 1980's, before the online revolution of travel sites. What I have found is that if you are not making a bid on a site like Priceline, then the online sites like Orbitz and others really don't do much for you in the way of savings.

Several experiences with hotel bookings I did, found that the online sites were charging higher prices than if you booked directly with the hotel (the hotel avoids the online fee). Also, once booked with an online service, many pull the funds immediately and if you cancel or make date adjustments, it may take a while to get your funds back.

Currently, I deal directly with the airlines, hotels and rental car agencies. Making travel changes appears to be easier that way.