Ken Burns series "Vietnam" on PBS

Lcountz

Recycles dryer sheets
Tonight the new 10 part series on Vietnam war, produced by Ken Burns, will air on PBS at 8pm ET ( here)...

I think it will run ten consecutive nights.....

FYI in case anyone planned to watch and didn't realize it starts tonight.....

Thanks, being a Nam vet I have mixed emotions but will probably watch the first installment. Ken Burns usually does an excellent job and I expect this to be no different. With that said, it will probably dredge up old memories better kept in the old memory vault.

I served with the 1st Cav in Nam as a 19 year old, shake n bake, airborne-ranger, SSG, grunt, 70-71.

I'm going to watch the whole thing. I did not go to Vietnam, but my dad did. I met a vet on my last plane ride. He was wounded 6 times which he described as not sissy wounds because he had to spend time in the hospital each time. I've never had a vet open up like that to me, not even my dad.

I also watched https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vietnam:_A_Television_History and read Karnow's book while I was still in school. Now that I am older and have children in their twenties, I'll see how I have changed.

From the Chicago Tribune:

Former United States Senator and Secretary of the Navy James Webb, who also was a highly decorated combat Marine in Vietnam, summed it up on a CBS Sunday Morning show in 2014: "If you were there, I don't need to explain. If you weren't, I can't explain."
and
Michael Herr, who helped write the screenplay for "Full Metal Jacket" and "Apocalypse Now," wrote, "All the wrong people remember Vietnam. I think all the people who remember it should forget it, and all the people who forget it should remember it."

Last edited:
I'm looking forward to it. I grew up in that era; my whole generation was profoundly affected by it. Ken Burns does excellent work, and this will probably not be an exception.

Thank you for your service Frayne.