A little explanation, please!

syd03

Recycles dryer sheets
I'd appreciate a bit of insight. I assume what has happened to our overall portfolio the last month plus is a result of bond fund pullback. But I'm not certain. Lately even when stocks are up 400 points in any given day the overall value of my portfolio holds steady or drops. My asset mix is 32 US stock/13 Int'l stock/28 bond/27 cash. Vanguard/Fidelity/T. Rowe. This morning I was certain I'd see at least a modest gain after yesterdays market bump, but alas, slightly down again. I guess I never really thought that at 28%, I'm so heavy in bonds that a pull back there would offset such nice equity gains.

I've been investing for 35 years, and don't recall my portfolio backing up quite so much on days when stocks move north so nicely. Any thoughts? When I was working and throwing more money at investments this wouldn't have bothered me. Now I'm having some trouble enjoying my morning coffee...

Yes, bonds were down again yesterday. Even though the Dow was up 306 points, the NASDAQ was down 310. A lot of tech stocks took a beating yesterday. I was also significantly down for the day.

Stocks didn't "move north nicely" yesterday, at least not many of them. While the Dow was up almost 1% (only 30 stocks in the index), both the S&P 500 and Nasdaq fell: 0.5% and almost 2.5% respectively.

I'd appreciate a bit of insight. I assume what has happened to our overall portfolio the last month plus is a result of bond fund pullback. But I'm not certain. Lately even when stocks are up 400 points in any given day the overall value of my portfolio holds steady or drops. My asset mix is 32 US stock/13 Int'l stock/28 bond/27 cash. Vanguard/Fidelity/T. Rowe. This morning I was certain I'd see at least a modest gain after yesterdays market bump, but alas, slightly down again. I guess I never really thought that at 28%, I'm so heavy in bonds that a pull back there would offset such nice equity gains.