College majors and future careers

Was your career in the same field as your undergrad major?.

• yes

Votes: 35 50.0%
  • no

Votes: 27 38.6%
  • didn't go to college

Votes: 8 11.4%

• Total voters
My degree is in Accounting, and I'm an accountant in industry after a few years in public accounting.

Started college in Engineering. Dropped out in 1975. Worked at 2 civil engineering firms since 1975. Went back to school and got business degree in 1990. My work involves business and engineering, so college focus areas have helped.

I saw the video of “Revolutionary Road” last week and immediately devoured the book. Set in 1955, the DH worked for a thinly veiled megacorp called Knox Business Machines and he and his DW have a scheme to escape that life and the suburbs that go with it. Well, I worked for a megacorp called [blank]BM and knew beyond a doubt I had to escape.* I remember a friend (at the coffee shop) saying, “it’s not the computers themselves that are interesting, it’s what you put into the computers.” It took me about 15 years to gravitate toward a job a psych. major would enjoy & find interesting, paralegal in family law appeals. The clients there are usually already divorced but can’t let go; I got to see some of them go thru the stages of grief, fall into deep depressions, and do all sorts of nasty things to each other.... A few of them could be helped.

*Odd coincidence, in the thread about Eugene, I mentioned a kook I knew who moved there; I met him at [blank]BM, and then met him again thru a friend, he was in rebellion against his father who I later met in yet another context. He and I had a nice chat about how we mutually & separately escaped that megacorp.

BS in Computer Science. Only field I have ever worked in.