Considering valuations when investing

YoungFlyingSaver

Confused about dryer sheets
To start with: I am NOT a proposer of market timing neither stock picking. I completely understand the benefits of index investing, as well as the buy and hold strategy.

My question is: do you guys consider at all valuations when you invest? What I mean is, do you look at PE/PB ratios, underperformance and other indicators when you buy securities? Or do you just have your asset allocation picked beforehand and just stick to it?

I am asking, since I have been investing for almost 2 years now and tend to change my asset allocation somewhat based on valuations. (There are also some ETFs that follow this strategy, the RAFIs for example) What do you think about this topic? Would appreciate any insight from the long-lived investors here :)

I pick a range of asset allocation I am happy with. For us that is 65% equities through 90% equities.

If the market is highly valued, I tend to sell my "winners" and lower the asset allocation toward the lower end (65%). If the market is very low valued, I will look for buys and move toward the upper end (90%). So it's a very muted market buying type thinking I suppose. But one I'm comfortable with. Most anything I buy will have taken a 20% hit before I buy it. The exceptions are good dividend paying companies which I might buy with only a 10% hit (being retired, I like income).