English words you have mispronounced for a long time

Bryan Barnfellow

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Bouncing off the recent thread on learning another language, I am reminded of certain words in English--my native language--that I was embarrassed to learn I had been (hilariously) mispronouncing. I caught these when I was in my mid-twenties. Or, rather, someone caught them for me!

* misled
For years as a teenager and undergrad I used to read this word and pronounce it in my head as "myzold." As in "I thought the coat was new; but I was myzold." I understood the meaning, but when I pronounced it out loud a Jewish friend asked me what Yiddish verb I was trying to say! Facepalm for sure; but he actually liked my attempt at creating a new vocabulary word: "Misle" - Yiddish, verb infinitive. To mislead someone. :facepalm:

* whodunit
When I was working for a small consulting company in the US after graduate school, I daily passed the Whodunit Bookstore. I mentioned it once to a colleague and he nearly passed out laughing at me. It was devoted to murder mysteries. I said "wad-unit" as one noun and wondered about its origin. He said it was a take on the phrase, "Who Done It" -- the "Who Done It" bookstore. I let myself out. :facepalm: :facepalm:

-BB

LOL Bryan my sister was a 'mizold' speaker as well, you are in good company.
Words I mispronunciate on porpoise:
My favorite is coworker. That is most definitely cow-orker.
The other favorite phrase I coined myself. When you are troubleshooting a problem that comes and goes, we call that intermittent.
I am always relieved when the problem does not go away. At that point it is full mittent, or just "mittent".
Those are much easier to solve. :)

Very funny. Carving "mittent" from "intermittent" seems very logical. And, I cannot tell you how happy I am to know I am not alone on misled! Thank you.

-BB