Fat Warriors Take Another Hit

Pass the Bacon !

Ah Contraire HaHa:

<From the article>
Conclusions: A meta-analysis of prospective epidemiologic studies showed that there is no significant evidence for concluding that dietary saturated fat is associated with an increased risk of CHD or CVD. More data are needed to elucidate whether CVD risks are likely to be influenced by the specific nutrients used to replace saturated fat.

Disclaimer: I'm not a scientist... I've been on the Atkins Diet eating virtually no carbs and eating a lot of dietary fat. My blood work is always better when on the diet. I think there's way more to it than what you eat = more cholesterol in your blood.

Ah Contraire HaHa:

<From the article>
Conclusions: A meta-analysis of prospective epidemiologic studies showed that there is no significant evidence for concluding that dietary saturated fat is associated with an increased risk of CHD or CVD. More data are needed to elucidate whether CVD risks are likely to be influenced by the specific nutrients used to replace saturated fat.

I don't understand your point. It seems just what the study suggests- fat is a non factor in heart disease and stroke.

HaHa:

Oh my mistake, I assumed that your thread lead-off title was suggesting the opposite.

I can see it now - - - the BACON diet!

"I'd like some bacon with my bacon, please, and sprinkle that with with bacon bits and lots of bacon dressing."

Next they'll be telling us that treadmill time is bad for the heart. ^-^

Nice pick-up, Ha.

There is biologic plausibility for that study's conclusions, and it seems to be reasonably well done. You could postulate that when fat intake is reduced, carb intake rises disproportionately in the typical North American diet, and they (carbs) are the culprit. By eating more fat you eat less carbs.

I was slow to adopt the carb theory at first, kind of brainwashed by decades of incorrect theory and research. But I now give it credibility.