Finally got out in my kayak today. First time this year. This year I was fo...

I think I'm going to try kayaking when I get to Orcas island. This looks like a lot of fun. Probably need a dry suit to go with it.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Early Retirement Forum mobile app

I'd be happy to show the ropes. As I am typing this on my iPad I am looking across to Orcas Island from the Canadian side of the watery border.

I've been paddling the waters around here for almost 30 years and never found reason to buy a dry suit. :)

Love paddling in the San Juan Islands too!

Got out again with ladies from the neighborhood. Played a bit in the local lagoon.
ImageUploadedByEarly Retirement Forum1445732670.562650.jpgImageUploadedByEarly Retirement Forum1445732721.480219.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum

This reminds me I need to buy a kayak and get back out on the water. :)

Excellent! But isn't the water up there really cold? I'll take you up on your offer Sea Kayaker!

Excellent! But isn't the water up there really cold? I'll take you up on your offer Sea Kayaker!

The water is indeed COLD. But the point of the exercise is to remain upright in your kayak so that you don't encounter the frigid Salish Sea of the San Juan/Gulf Islands. This means knowing excellent bracing techniques! If you plan on practising your wet exits, capsize recoveries, and eventually rolls in the ocean, yes a dry suit would not be a bad idea. I occasionally brush up these skills in local indoor pool workshops - kayaking is so popular here that many community pools open up for kayakers to come practice Eskimo rolls and such things in nice, non-hypothermia inducing water temperatures. It's a blast.

Folding Kayaks are worth a look for sea kayaking - folks have taken these across the Atlantic as they are extremely stable and ability to add a sail. I am currently adapting a Klepper Sail to my Pouch Kayak.