FIRE-eligible, Handcuffed, Enjoy Job

Route246

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi,

I'm new here. I work in tech and have critical mass, can retire anytime and enjoy my job. I'm 66 and while the pace of my role is hectic I'm OK with that and have been accused of being a workaholic in the past. The issue is financial handcuffs. How do you reconcile walking away from handcuffs that you worked an entire career to achieve?

I walked away from about $350k a year. I don’t miss it. My freedom is priceless.

Welcome to the forum.

FI gives you the option to RE but does not require it. If you like your work more than your free time then don't let anyone pressure you to retire. Knowing you can retire any time is priceless but doesn't mean you have to.

Hi,

I'm new here. I work in tech and have critical mass, can retire anytime and enjoy my job. I'm 66 and while the pace of my role is hectic I'm OK with that and have been accused of being a workaholic in the past. The issue is financial handcuffs. How do you reconcile walking away from handcuffs that you worked an entire career to achieve?
I guess the motivator would be that statistically you have 16.26 years left to live.

Does the extra money/prestige from your work warrant the reduction in the amount of healthy years you have left? You probably have more money than you can spend at this point.

I don't really see it as being handcuffed if you enjoy the job and there's nothing else you'd rather be doing at the moment.

I was making FU money 10+ years ago when I walked (ER). Didn't hate my job and I was in a position of some power in the company but I had enough. Wasn't hard. Never regretted it for one minute.

Last edited: