Hello, All

Ed_B

Recycles dryer sheets
I'm a 53 year old husband (for 33 years), father of 2, grandfather of 2, and am looking forward to ER in about 15 months. I'm a senior research and development chemist for a privately held chemical company. I've worked in the same facility for 29 years and have worked for 5 different companies thanks to the buy-out binge of the 1980s and 1990s. I graduated from college in 1970, attended grad school, and then worked for 2 years as a community college teacher in chemistry and physics. Also did some substitute teaching in math and earth sciences. I love chemistry as a profession but am tiring rapidly of the corporate scene. I used to think that the cartoon "Dilbert" was weird but am coming to understand that it is true more often than not. :(

I like to spend my spare time fishing for salmon and steelhead, making wine and beer, doing yardwork and gardening, bowling (202 avg), computing (build and maintain my own), target shooting / reloading, reading (especially history, Sci-Fi, and military drama), visiting friends and relatives, and traveling. I'm seriously considering going to half-time next year as a prelude to ER. That will allow me to have more free time, still earn enough that I won't have to dip into my retirement funds just yet, and work with the people that I know and care about at my company.

Would like to buy a boat when I retire so I can have more quality time with nature. My wife and I live in the Pacific NW and love it. We like the mountains, lakes, rivers, streams, and beaches mostly but also visit the desert areas. I used to hunt for deer and elk as well as phesants, quail, and ducks but have traded that in for fishing.

Would also like to take a shot at writing some Sci-Fi as a way of paying the Sci-Fi community back for all the years of pleasurable reading I have enjoyed from the work of others.