Help Me Out - What Can I Do When I Retire?

Hi All

So I can retire any day now but will stick it out for a few more years more to pump up post-retirement benefits in terms of health care and pension.

I'll be in my early 50's so want to continue to do meaningful work to keep me sharp and grounded.

So what do people suggest?

I don't want a full time job but 5,10,15 hours a week would be great.

My background is:

a) PhD in Computer Science
b) 5 years experience in Silicon Valley in the 2000's
c) Last 15 years in Academia
d) Live in CA but can/may move
e) Lots of experience giving presentations, managing a small team of students
f) I can teach well but am not a natural.
g) I have hobbies (biking, golf, investing) but nothing that's something I want to do each and every day.
h) My job involved lots of travel so I will travel but not that much.

Consider learning manderin and live in china for the following reasons:
1. Low housing costs if you stay away from 1st tier cities such as Shanghai.
2. Low crime and no guns.
3. Excellent night life.
4. Low medical cost.
5. Some chinese speak english.
6. Great transportation system and signs and announcements are in english.
7. Easy to get a job teaching english.
8. Ex pats and chinese are happier than living in other countries.
9. Great food.
10. Cashless system using your phone.

The only problem is no political freedom but personal freedom and high standard of living are better. Watch youtube videos about Americans living in China.

Consider learning manderin and live in china for the following reasons:
1. Low housing costs if you stay away from 1st tier cities such as Shanghai.
2. Low crime and no guns.
3. Excellent night life.
4. Low medical cost.
5. Some chinese speak english.
6. Great transportation system and signs and announcements are in english.
7. Easy to get a job teaching english.
8. Ex pats and chinese are happier than living in other countries.
9. Great food.
10. Cashless system using your phone.