home computer security SW?

albireo13

Full time employment: Posting here.
I am looking for good internet security/anti-virus SW for home use. We have two WIN PCs and one MAC in the house.

I'd like to buy one license that can work with WIN10, WIN11, and MacOS.

Any good recommendations out there? Any good stories or advice?

They all look good when you check out web sites. Right now, my top contenders are Norton 360 and Bitdefender.

My two WIN machines came with 1 year of McAffee but, they timed out.

thx

I've been using Webroot for about 20 years. Have no problems with it. And I haven't been hit with anything computerologically dangerous virus wise.

Windows comes with a decent antivirus built in , so we don't bother, just set it to scan every day.
We do use the free Malwarebytes on Windows machine as well, it can find some non-virus issues.

Ditto what Sunset said. Most tech sources I have read say the built in Windows security is good enough. I always had problems with bloated packages like McAffee conflicting with other software and causing problems. I haven't had any serious problems (that I am aware of) in 20+ years using the built in security software.

The key is to avoid various phishing schemes. If you click on the wrong link you may be screwed whichever security package you use.

First one should keep one's computer software up to date and make sure your router is secure (update to date firmware).

I use Windows Defender, just the standard package. Also have a subscription to Malwarebytes for a bit more peace of mind.

Avast free antivirus. It's very good, Spending money just gets you bloated.

Don't go where you shouldn't.
Don't click on links you shouldn't. Be diligent.
Keep it backed up.