I Bond rate at 2.2 % starting in May

Mulligan

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
With the CPI announced for March, the next 6 months will be 2.2% starting in May assuming fixed rate is 0% (according to another forum). Any I Bonds purchased prior to end of month is 3.06% for 6 months before changing to 2.2%. The first 4 months of the cycle had little change, with most of the CPI inflation occurring in the past 2 months.

Thanks for the heads-up :)

Chuckanut said:
Greek bonds are about 19% in comparison.

Thats way too risky for me. I Bonds to me, are gloried short term CDs that pay a better rate and have no state income tax. This is as exotic as I get in the bond arena!

Looks like those of us who jumped in at the end of October can continue to ride another 6 months,,

I am new to I Bonds. Are their yearly taxes on I bonds if you do not sell them?

Last edited:
Thanks brewer. Can you buy 10k of I Bonds and 10k of EE bonds in the same year?

Last edited:
Dreamer said:
Thanks for posting this Mulligan.

Your welcome Dreamer. You know I live a boring life when I track I Bond rates for entertainment! Rec, I believe you can buy 10k of both. However, I dont know the benefit of buying EE bonds and locking in at 0.60% interest, unless you are planning to hold the full 20 years and get your doubling of the principle which equals out somewhere in the neighborhood of a little over 3.5% if my memory serves me.

So a total of 15k of I Bonds. I guess if you do not get a refund you could pay 5k in then you would get a 5k refund.

Thanks Dimsumkid.

Question about interest forfeiture::
Cashing an I-Bond that is less than five years old results in a one quarter interest give back.
My question is this: Is the give back quarter the last quarter earned, or is it some percentage of the entire amount of interest earned during the life of the bond??

Question about interest forfeiture::