Living on a small boat in the Caribbean

We did it for 3 Seasons. But The Boat was not that small.

Attachments

• Windward Islands February 2005_0073.jpg
    Windward Islands February 2005_0073.jpg
    507.8 KB · Views: 115
  • Windward Islands February 2005_0211.jpg
    Windward Islands February 2005_0211.jpg
    539.1 KB · Views: 123
  • Ian in Hammock (Large).jpg
    Ian in Hammock (Large).jpg
    445.9 KB · Views: 133
A really nice video, another happy Canadian who found warm weather :D

He basically has retired very early, but perhaps thinks of it as simply taking some time off.

It looks pretty lonely.....

A really nice video, another happy Canadian who found warm weather :D

He basically has retired very early, but perhaps thinks of it as simply taking some time off.

Picky, picky! How about the black hairdo and woman's bathing suit seen in one of the photos?

Ha

Last edited:
I think this lifestyle would have been extremely appealing to me back when I was working for a living. Ah, getting away from work, deadlines, hassles, getting out into nature, enjoying the silence and no pressures or stress.... :)

But now that I am retired, it doesn't have that appeal for me any more. I lived on a boat for a while when I was younger, and I tend to think about the disadvantages. For example, what a pain in the neck it would be to lug groceries and so on down to the boat to fill my (probably tiny) refrigerator/freezer, lugging water if necessary, the upkeep the boat might require, the need for a slip, bad weather/tornados/waterspouts, and so on. And also I love my city water, city sewerage, high speed internet, and Amazon deliveries to my door.

We do sometimes drive down to the boat harbor and park there to enjoy the breeze, scenery, and sounds. It's nice and only a few blocks from here.

Last edited: