" SOC SEC FOR INS" US Treasury Check

cantlogin

Full time employment: Posting here.
I've been receiving Social Security Retirement benefits for two months.
The deposits I receive have been the anticipated monthly benefit minus the Medicare part B premium payment.

Yesterday, a check from the US treasury came to me in the US Mail.
There is no explanation other than the text " SOC SEC FOR INS" on the check.

Has anyone else experienced anything like this?

What does it mean?

A google search finds a lot of questions about checks like these, but no answers.

I'm going to call the Treasury and Social Security offices about this but i'm anticipating a lot of time on hold.

No experience but just a guess on my part.

Were you previously paying Part B premium on your own and the check is a refund of advance premiums paid since they started taking it out of SS? Is the check amount evenly divisible by $148.50?

For example if your SS started 2/1/20 and they wtihheld $148.50 for Part B premiums and in December you paid a $445.50 Part B premium bill for 1/1/20-3/31/20 then they would owe you $297.

A quick Google found it is usually for SSI benefits. It can also be for reimbursed Medicare deductions or payments. Possibly other.

As I recall, when I started receiving SS benefits at age 66, Medicare premiums were automatically withheld. I had previously paid Medicare premiums every 3 months. I did receive a check from the treasury for 2 month's Medicare reimbursement. I don't know what the details of the issuer said. To be certain, contact SS and ask.

No experience but just a guess on my part.

Were you previously paying Part B premium on your own and the check is a refund of advance premiums paid since they started taking it out of SS? Is the check amount evenly divisible by $148.50?

For example if your SS started 2/1/20 and they wtihheld $148.50 for Part B premiums and in December you paid a $445.50 Part B premium bill for 1/1/20-3/31/20 then they would owe you $297.