Social Security options to consider after cancer diagnosis

skipro33

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I started drawing my SS at age 62 because I figured I would rather have the cash now while young enough to enjoy rather than later when I wasn't able to recreate as much. I'm turning 64 in October. The plan was for my wife to file at her FRA in 3 years and get 50% of my PIA which will get her around $1400 a month adding to our income.

Yesterday I was diagnosed with an incurable cancer. It is manageable, and I'm told I could live past 5 years. I need further testing to determine staging, bone marrow biopsy, PET CT scan, etc. So what I'd like to know is what are the options for my wife going forward if I don't survive more than a year or so?

I'll assume she should still plan on drawing her SS at FRA and if I go quick, she'll pick up my SS and not need to apply for hers.

Or should she draw hers now and assume mine when I croak? Not sure what the best strategy is for her going forward.

Very sorry to hear about your health issues, skipro. Hope that the rest of the news is good and you get a manageable treatment plan so you can enjoy more years of your retirement.

I'll leave the SS questions to those who are more expert on this, or you may want to talk with an hourly fee financial advisor to get professional advice. Best of luck to you and your wife.

wow, that is tough to hear, skipro. Praying that you get more positive news on the rest of your testing and have a good treatment team to work with.

A conference with at FA might be helpful for you and your wife.

Best wishes to you

Sorry to hear of the diagnosis, skipro33. Hope you find what’s needed to manage and extend this as long as possible.

I'm so sorry.

https://www.ssa.gov/benefits/survivors/ifyou.html explains the scenarios. https://www.aarp.org/retirement/social-security/questions-answers/social-security-spouse-dies/ might be written more clearly.