The Great Maine Outdoors

Realizm

Confused about dryer sheets
Welcome to the Great Outdoors of Maine, my name is James. I'm new to FIRE, and have just started browsing after listening to Youtubers like Dave Ramsey. It was a good starting point, but I'm just starting my journey.

Married
Wife's Age: 22

No kids, two cats.

I'm a Software Product Manager here in Maine, and my wife is starting as an Art Teacher in the next few weeks. She's been working as a Sub since graduating in December. I work full time and am finishing up my last semester of college. My father is a workaholic and so am I, so I plan to pickup a second job/gig when I graduate or the boredom of couch life will kill me. Been working since I was 7 running my own lobster boat, so working is pretty engrained.

Debt:
$28,000 in student loans

We were fortunate that I was born Native American, so my tuition was free. There are other benefits such as a 184HUD loan towards a home at less than market rates with just 2.25% down payment with it being federally backed there is no need for mortgage insurance. Our plan for the student loans are to wait out the next few months to see if any government stimulus helps us out. Before the interest rate and payment freeze ends, we will pay it off in full. Slowly saving up our cash reserves for this purpose with our goal to always have $10,000+ in cash at all times. Once the loans are paid, we want to get back up to around $25,000 in cash.

Currently our household income is $75,000/year before taxes, once my wife starts work we expect to be $90,000-$100,000/year before taxes.

My 401k: $3000
Joint Brokerage: $19,500
Cash: $25,500