Time >>> $

HI Bill

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I received stunning news today from a dear family friend, who had just retired 3 years ago, at age 64. He has Stage 4 cancer, and pancreatic cancer. Based on a quick internet search, it's unlikely he'll live another 5 years, and will likely require palliative care sooner than later.

I had been talking to him and his wife for at least 15 years about my early retirement plans, and while they were interested, it was clear that they hadn't saved enough $, and needed to work until full retirement age to qualify for pensions and SS.

They've had three great years of travel and family visits, and hiked more than 500 miles in Europe. We were fortunate to get to visit with them this year.

You never know how long you have on this planet. If you have enough, and have had enough, this is a stark reminder that while you can always continue to w#rk and earn more $, you can never gain more time. You never know how long you have. If you can, and you can meet your desired standard of living, I'd high recommend FIRING on time (no more OMYs), and enjoying the time you have left! I waited too long, and COVID hit, destroying my dive travel plans for the first two years of ER. You never know...

A good friend of mine died from cancer at 59 so retired because of the cancer about 9 months before she died. Yes life is short. I am so sorry about your friend.

Yep, one never knows what’s around the corner.

Sorry about your friend. Good that he has some notice, as others I have known.

Easy to roll the tape backward and ask yourself “what if?” Try to avoid that as you think about him and his choices.

IMO, the important thing is live your life as if it could end before you expect. For some that is working and doing what they they like, for others, it’s that without getting paid for it. Evaluate at the end of the day if one is happy with how it was spent. If not, adjust the next day you wake up.

Sh!tty deal all around.