USPS Early Retiree in Tennessee

postmuffin

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi, I'm Cathy. I retired in March of 2009 at the young age of 51. Living in Florida, but far from my son in Tennessee - I was fortunate to sell my house in June 09 and move to TN. I now live in Murfreesboro, just South of Nashville. I really like it here and enjoy being near my 24 year old son.

I feel I'm too young to be retired, so I've been trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. I worked as a Postmaster for the US Postal Service - 25 1/2 years of service. It's been fun over the last year to try out some different things that I always wanted to try but didn't have the courage to try. I've sold clothing at my favorite store - Chicos (didn't like hours, pay or standing on my feet), done clerical work at a University (job was temporary/part time and fairly boring - but I wish I hadn't quit it), done taxes for H & R Block (no money in that!), and tried selling life insurance (nope, that definitely wasn't for me). For now, I'm not working and living on my small retirement check. It's enough to pay the bills, but not much more. But, it's nice not to have to work.

Hi postmuffin! Welcome to the forum.

There are a variety of outlooks on retirement, as diverse as the people doing it. I understand about trying out the different jobs to see what it's like. Post retirement from 29 years in law enforcement I was even a car salesman. For a month. It was the only time in my life I've ever been fired from a job and I was laughing as I left the parking lot. "Well, that wasn't a good fit, on to something else...."

One of the longest-running threads is the one "What did you do today?" and that will give you ideas of the outlook.

Hi and welcome Cathy! I like Chicos too but don't think I'd want to work there either. Working in retail often means long hours, low pay and dealing with annoying customers. It's great you could move close to your son. Sounds like you two are close.:)