Will I be liable for "damages" above and beyond security deposit?

jimbohoward69

Recycles dryer sheets
1) I have been renting the same condo in Ohio since January of 2013. When I moved in, the property management company was a "Mom & Pop" type of operation, so the original lease wasn't as detailed as others I've had in past residences. There is a section within the lease regarding forfeiture of security deposit (one month's rent), with a list of things that could trigger it...most notably the overarching statement "Failure to return premises to original condition".

2) The original property management company has since been replaced by another...yet I have not signed an updated lease since the original when I moved in. I've been allowed to continue living here, on the same lease, with the same monthly rent.

3) I smoked cigarettes in the residence, off and on, for the first couple of years...but stopped after that. That said, to this day, visitors tell me they've encountered a "slight" smoke smell upon entering. If/when I decide to move out, I would assume that having a lingering smoke smell would constitute "failure to return premises to original condition" (A "No Smoking" clause doesn't appear anywhere in the lease...although that may not mean much at this point).

So, I ask the question, could the current property management company hold me liable for "damages" above and beyond the security deposit I paid? There is no language in the lease stating such. Any thoughts on the matter would be greatly appreciated. I know there are landlords/owners of rental properties on these boards so I just wanted to throw my situation out there. Thanks!

Damage deposits are simply an incentive to tenants to not wreck the place, and an easy way to cover the cost of low value damage.
If you really trash a place, of course you can be sued by the landlord to recover costs.
This does not include normal wear and tear, carpets wear out, paint fades, has cooking odours/oil on it, etc..