58 and dreading sunrise

workedout

Confused about dryer sheets
I'm 58 and my wife is 56. We live in rural MN. I've been preparing taxes for the last 36 yrs and am burned out. Have been self employed since 1984 with my wife as a coworker. We would like to quit ASAP. We make approx 100,000 and spend 80,000. Have 3 kids, grown up and mostly independent. We have approx 1.6 million in investments and retirement accts. 7% cash; 20% bonds; and the rest stocks and mutual funds. We have some real estate worth 500,000 and a nice lake home worth 500,000. My wife insists these get left to our children so we are basing out retirement goals on the investments and retirement accts. I'm no financial planner but I took the 1.6 million and amortized it over 25 yrs at 4% and figured we could take out 8,000 a month if we needed to. Real estate and house would be in reserve if needed. Please advise!!!:)

Welcome, workedout.

Have you tried running your numbers through Firecalc (at the bottom of this page)?

omni

I'm 58 and my wife is 56. We live in rural MN. I've been preparing taxes for the last 36 yrs and am burned out. Have been self employed since 1984 with my wife as a coworker. We would like to quit ASAP. We make approx 100,000 and spend 80,000. Have 3 kids, grown up and mostly independent. We have approx 1.6 million in investments and retirement accts. 7% cash; 20% bonds; and the rest stocks and mutual funds. We have some real estate worth 500,000 and a nice lake home worth 500,000. My wife insists these get left to our children so we are basing out retirement goals on the investments and retirement accts. I'm no financial planner but I took the 1.6 million and amortized it over 25 yrs at 4% and figured we could take out 8,000 a month if we needed to. Real estate and house would be in reserve if needed. Please advise!!!:)

I thought from the thread title that we had our first vampire early retirees.

Agree with the firecalc suggestion.