Finally, Age 64 and done :-)

GoWest

Dryer sheet wannabe
While not "early" by any measure on this forum, I happily retired from federal service at age 64 on May 31, 2018. I pulled the plug the same month my youngest son graduated from college, coinciding with my 64th birthday.

We all have to decide when that time is right. I'm late to the "early retirement" party, but darn glad to be here! I will draw down IRA's and await "full retirement" age 66 before applying for Social Security.

Retired: U.S. Air Force (1995)
Retired: Commonwealth of Virginia (five years service) 2004
Retired: U.S. Government (Federal Employee Retirement System, 2018)

Bob (Happily not commuting to Washington DC)!

Last edited:
Earlier than many!

Congratulations.

Hoping to FIRE in 10 years (when I turn 50)

Hi! I’m a nurse here in NY, married, mom of 3 (one with Autism, another with ADHD, and the youngest one at 4 years old). I am hoping I can retire when I turn 50 in 10 years but I think the most practical time will be at 58 when my youngest one is done with college.

Is there a formula to use how much we need that adjusts to how many dependents you have when you retire?

Congrats to GoWest. Every age is great to retire!

Is there a formula to use how much we need that adjusts to how many dependents you have when you retire?

I'd keep track of expenses in detail for several years, then project into future. There will be deviances and estimations for sure, but each retirement is a very individual issue.

Last edited:
I'm late to the "early retirement" party, but darn glad to be here!
Any time you get to choose when to retire and to do it on your own terms, then you aren't late - you are right on time!

Well done. Congratulations!

(Looks like you might have a pension or two in there? Nice!)