I stopped trying to Optimize and set my date

Romer

Recycles dryer sheets
Not really an Introduction as I have been here for a few months.

I have been procrastinating about my retirement date and for one reason or another it has slowly moved to the right. Not because I can’t afford to retire, but because I have been continually working to optimize it. I am an Engineer and can’t help myself.

I was going to go after Thanksgiving, but my lead PM has surgery then and will be out the month of December. So I decided to cover for her and make it early January so I can transition to her.

Now I am working to optimize health Insurance. Due to the good advice I received here I looked at past medical expenses. And except for the year my wife had knee surgery our expenses have been medium never really hitting the Out of pocket max and typically not the deductible. So for 2022 open enrollment I am lowering the cost of the policy by taking higher deductible and out of pockets. Other than that it is the same policy. Although not a big change while an active employee, it is $400/month under Cobra. Megacorp will also provide a $1000 contribution to my HSA and allow me to earn $800 with incentives like a check up if I am still an active employee on Feb 1st (Vacation counts).

I have 10 weeks of vacation so I plan on taking that after my last day and then switching to the same policy under Cobra so deductibles etc carryover. I will increase my HSA contributions so I can max out 2022 before I run out of vacation and then pay the Cobra part of the policy out of my HSA for the rest of the year. Another great suggestion by this forum

I then was thinking if I went half time for two months starting end of Jan, I could then extend the time my vacation will last covering my health insurance as an active employee