BIL's Brother - 64, financial straits, how to advise?

SunnyOne

Recycles dryer sheets
My brother in law's brother is in a financial mess and my BIL, knowing I am a student of personal finance has asked for some guidance to pass onto him.

I am at a loss here. In short, the guy is 64 and divorced with 6 adult children on their own, their mid 20s-mid 30s.

Ex wife is recently deceased. It appears that $30K of back child support pushed him underground and unbanked. He had been getting paid cash to work the sound board and other tasks at a night club now shuttered due to COVID. This is how he has been supporting himself for several years on his own, renting a room from a friend.

There is also some debt to the IRS, but no other debt.
Emergency fund is now decimated due to 6 months out of work. Was unable to qualify for stimulis, due to life in the shadows.

At the very least, I think he should try to apply for emergency food assistance, but I don't know how that is done.

I asked about his wife's work history - apparently she worked for a long time in a public library, so I encouraged him to look into Soc Sec based on her record and their long marriage, but he is concerned that the state will just take money to pay down the back child support.

I feel as if at age 64, he needs to come out of the shadows and try to see about clearing out that debt, particularly since the ex spouse is deceased?

Any suggestions to give him so he doesn't end up on the streets? Child support is not an area I am familiar with.

Apparently, whatever money he once had, he says went to pay college tuition for some of his children, so that was on top of whatever child support he was paying until things fell apart for him.