Memorial Day

Travelwanted

Recycles dryer sheets
I want to thank any and all vets and their families for their service and sacrifice.

Freedom is not free.

As a disabled Vet, I appreciate the thanks.

Far too many people live in the USA, mostly non-veterans, that complain about not enough 'freebies'. Yet, they do not appreciate all of the people that paid the ultimate price for them.

The USA and it's population would be a much better place if 100% of people 18+ were either Veterans or active duty.

Last edited:
I too appreciate the sentiment, but Memorial Day is to remember those of our brothers and sisters in arms who did not make it home.

Ode of Remembrance

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning,
We will remember them.

-- from “For the Fallen” by Laurence Binyon, September 1914

Not only remember the ones who have died, but thank God they were there in the first place.

It is foolish and wrong to mourn the men who died. Rather we should thank God that such men lived.

— George S. Patton

"Freedom is not free"

Off to pay respects at the local Memorial Day parade. The living veterans join the parade at the very end to lead it into pilgrims home cemetery. The vets get solemn applause. The marching bands stop playing and just march. At the end a lone bugler plays taps. Prob one of the most moving melodies on earth.

So thank you, senator, and all the rest of the individuals and families who chose or did not choose to serve our great country.

--ZG

Last November, my wife and I visited Washington DC. Our visits included Arlington, the Pentagon 9/11 memorial and the Holocaust museum. We also drove up to the battlefield memorials of Gettysburg.