Repair before Replace?

easysurfer

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
So, since you've FIRE'd do you have a different mindset about buying stuff? I do as now when something breaks down, I think "can I fix it?" before deciding to just buy new to replace.

I sucessfully fixed a couple of things in the past few weeks. One, I have this solar flashlilght just that quit working. So, I took it apart and all it needed was a wire re-soldered. I'm not good with a soldering iron, but did get that to work (after about 5 tries :)).

Yesterday, I was testing the 12v dc socket of my battery jumper but it didn't work. So I put some baking soda and tried cleaning the bit of corrosion I saw there. Didn't work. Next I was thinking of buying a replacement portable power station.

Something like either of these:

http://www.amazon.com/Duracell-DPP-...-Compressor/dp/B000TKBLHM/ref=pd_sim_dbs_ol_3

http://www.amazon.com/JNC300XL-Jump...ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=hi&qid=1279658993&sr=1-1http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=bl_sr_hi?ie=UTF8&search-alias=tools&field-brandtextbin=Jump-n-Carry

One last effort today, I bought a lemon, squeezed the juice into the socket to wash out the rust and ... Success!! A little patience, 48 cents for a lemon and now the thing works like new. :D
No need to replace at all.

So, since you've FIRE'd do you have a different mindset about buying stuff? I do as now when something breaks down, I think "can I fix it?" before deciding to just buy new to replace.

That's great! Wish I could say the same. :LOL: I have no talent for fixing things and I am a terrible clutz, so I am afraid of jumper cables.